• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2018 w/ MDS clutching

bgraff1

Lifetime Membership
Nov 29, 2007
Lloydminster, Alberta
whos running MDS clutching in the 18+? ive been running MDS since 2018 and i thought it was working well until last year and i had a few buddies ride it and they said there was something wrong. i ran MDS in my old 2012 and loved it but last year i couldnt pull RPM and it just didnt seem to feel right. had to pull a pile of weight to keep 8200ish. running 75.8g tip loaded with a white/red primary spring. compression is good. 2018 162 with belt drive. is there anything better for the 18+? i used to run CPC/dalton and loved the ease of adjustment but was sold on the "power to the track" claims of the MDS. was thinking of going back to stock just to try so i can see the difference.

bgraff1

Lifetime Membership
Nov 29, 2007
Lloydminster, Alberta
figured i should pull the primary to inspect and found identical wear on all 3 weights. what causes this? probably only 800 miles on these. rollers show zero damage and roll just fine318360174_526160552729653_5501966499149884224_n.jpg318606248_705314047534583_4463781883087515238_n.jpg

Vern

Lifetime Membership
Jun 14, 2004
hyrum utah
I know on the ‘20 and ‘21 team clutches something was different and Mds was hit and miss on whether they work, I have a basically brand new set sitting on the shelf because my ‘20 wouldn’t pull them and I forgot about the money back guarantee, but it’s probably to late now. they seem pretty popular on the ‘18-19 clutches though.

That’s interesting wear, almost like the weight was bouncing or rattling against the rollers or something

boondocker97

Lifetime Membership
Oct 30, 2008
Billings MT