• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2003 MC 800 EFI - Important maintenance

C
Oct 31, 2014
Hi...I just picked up a used 800 EFI with around 2400 miles on it. It was originally a 144, but was changed to a 159 by the previous owner. Sled is in decent shape for being 10+ yrs old.

I'm quite new to AC sleds, so was hoping to get some pointers on what to address before the snow starts falling heavy here in the Cascades. The previous owner looks to have kept things pretty clean, but didn't seem like a lot of maintenance had been done recently.

Are there any critical items I should look over before putting this thing to use this winter? Starts up on 3rd or 4th pull from cold. Haven't run it long enough to see how it does when it's warm. Ovious items seem to be fine. Track is worn a bit, but looks pretty decent. Don't see any obvious stress cracking, or wear on anything.

Thanks.
D

MT Backcountry

Lifetime Membership
Aug 29, 2008
Montana
Maintenance

check your hyfaxs or the wear strips between the track and the rails, replace if worn, not too expensive $20.00 or so. Look over the belts replace if have any cords pulled. With air blow out the clutches, and look at the rollers on the secondary for possible wear. coolant, oil, gas and go.

Idcatman3

MODERATOR: Premium Member
Staff member
Nov 26, 2007
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Check that clutch weights are running true.
Check driveshaft bearings.
Check chain tension and chaincase oil.
Grease everything, and make sure suspension bolts are all tight and holes on the rails are not egged out.
Check hyfax condition.
Check the bushings in the A-arms, they can get loose.