• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

'14 RMK 800 cluster acting weird, braking changes mode.

K
Jan 19, 2022
Castlegar
So I've done a little searching to no avail. My cluster is acting odd, only the RPMs are off at start-up, sometimes displays 0 sometimes 1800 but she runs, sounds, and performs as expected otherwise. This is what's getting me though, my mode/select buttons do nothing and have been replaced by my brake lever. Yep, every time I hit the brakes my mode changes, and it's not the micro switch. If I lightly pull to trip the switch it doesn't change, only when I engage the brake. Other than that everything is normal. I'm new to working on sleds but not vehicles in general. I've checked:

-Visual on wiring that's easily seen, looks good.
-Fuses, good
-Relay (is there more than one? near the clutch), needs testing but from my understanding I'd have other things not working if it were fried.
-Cleaned all connections*

I've noticed that my connections near the clutch are not in that baggy that comes stock, previous owner just taped them up, that being said a bleeder hose? was pointed right at it. Moved it, cleaned up the mess but problem still persists. One would think if it was a short I'd have bigger problems or blown fuses. I do not have battery/electric start and is stock other than a ridiculously loud can. Any suggestions? So far I've just been going about as normal, just have to tap the brakes a couple times when I want to see temps.

And while I have your attention, my secondary clutch has about an 1/8 - 3/16 of play. Should I address this right away or could one get away with it? I don't have the tools to do it myself and I use the sled 80% access/ski 20% brapping/learning how to ride, not be taken for a ride when the trail ends.

Thanks!

ditch1000

Lifetime Membership
Jul 6, 2008
Fort St. James, B.C.