• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

09 M1 with SLP pipe kit, BD controller. Need fuel numbers and clutching tips

600xc4me

May 21, 2008
La Crete Alberta
A friend of mine just bought him self an 09 M1000, it's got the SLP Y pipe, pipe and can combo, and a boondocker fuel controller. It's going be ridden at about 1000-3000'. It's clutched stock with 85g weights I believe, and stock springs for the same elevation. He took it for his first ride today, was running about 7800 rpm at 1500 feet. Lots more than he should be running IMO. What you recommend for clutching for him? He isn't a wrench head, AT ALL. So I will be helping him with it all. I have never worked with a cat before, so I'm coming to you guys. What would you clutch it at?

And what about his boondocker? Only motor mods is the pipe. He hasn't done a thing with his fuel controller yet. Any starting numbers for him? I didn't drive it today, but I know it could be improved on seeing as it hasn't been touched.

Thanks for the help. :)

Oct 7, 2008
Get onto SLP's website, go in and select the pipe kit for the 1000. It will give you all the fuel and clutching information to get you started. 7800 rpm's is about where you want it to be running.

S
Dec 2, 2007
power commander

if it gives him trouble, i would toss it and buy a power commander from starting line. they program it and send it to you. plug it in and go. never monkey with it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

600xc4me

May 21, 2008
La Crete Alberta
Awesome thanks, I dind't think to go check slp's web site. I can't print it off for him, but I got him SLP's number, so he can give them a call and they will help hm out I'm sure. :) I would also have gotten a PC3. but he jst go's with what the dealer tells him. lol So I hope it works for him.

harf69

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007