Upgrade to Premium
Arctic Cat: 1M 2001-2005, all models in the Mountain Cat / 1M chassis

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2017, 10:46 PM
Currently: Not set.
Basic Member
EOsnownut is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 04' 900 1M chain case help

Hi all, ill start by saying I'm relatively new to sleds I've only been riding one season. I'm looking at a 2004 MC900 1M 159", a massive upgrade from last seasons Indy 500 LC 136".

So the guy I'm buying it from has said it seemed to be skipping teeth in the chain case due to running it dry last season and heating it up. He replaced the chain and the issue went away, but has since re surfaced.
I have photos of both the upper and lower gear/sprocket.

1st question, is that a logical scenario?
2nd, could there be something else causing the skipping, if so, what?
3rd, how difficult is it to replace the gears and chain?
4th, what gearing and chain should I go with if my riding style/area is mostly low elevation off trail riding?

Any advice or opinions would be extremely appreciated!

Hoping to get a hold of this sled for $900, which seems like a good price but I have no idea being new to sleds.

Thanks in advance for any info!

Rate this post: Yes | No
Old 09-07-2017, 07:49 AM
kiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond reputekiliki has a reputation beyond repute
Garage

flip it on the side and check the drive shaft bearings on each end of the shaft. I have had more then one go bad.

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Rate this post: Yes | No
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kiliki For This Useful Post:
clutch (09-07-2017), Idcatman3 (09-07-2017)
Old 09-07-2017, 10:34 AM