For support please email or pm Christopher christopher@snowestonline.com

Upgrade to Premium
Electronics Beacons, GPS, communication systems, etc.....

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2010, 11:03 AM
Currently: Trying to make it go faster.
Brian has disabled reputation
Garage
Default In-Helmet radios with Midland / Rino / others.

So I am the first to fully admit that I'm new to sleds... My background is on ATVs, but several things I do there seem to translate well to the sled world.

In the ATV world, we've been using Midland GTX1000VP4 FRS / GMRS radios. They are a full 5-watts on GMRS, they are completely waterproof, and most importantly, you can pull out the rechargeable battery and swap it with AA batteries on the fly. Link to the Midland radios is here. I can tell you with 100% certainty these are the best basic FRS/GMRS radios on the market, hands down.

Attached to the Midland radios, I use a kit that installs right inside the helmets (earphones and microphone are embedded right inside). Out of the helmet a cable runs and connects to a "push to talk" button that's mounted right on the handlebars, and then connected to the radio. The point is that riders can talk to each other and hear each other from right inside their helmet... And the transmit-button can be pushed without taking their hands off the machine. Link to the helmet-kit I use is here.

The radios are easily attached to the handlebars with zip-ties. I find they hold better than any of the mounts I've attempted.

In other words... For around $120, you can get two radios and two helmet kits and two riders can talk easily to one another.