• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Video of the new 850 on the snow?

06redrevx

Lifetime Membership
Dec 3, 2008
Matt Entz had one too.

Scott
Since you are the only one that I know that has ridden the new 850, what are your thoughts on track lengths? I normally ride 155s but it it going to be a wheelie monster compared to the 800 HO? What lengths did you get to ride? I want to check one and am thinking 163 might keep it better planted?

Scott

Scott Stiegler
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Nov 1, 1998
W Mont
I've been riding my 2013 Proride 156 with the X3 for about 4 years now. I LOVE that track.
It's held up well and it has behaved very well. I REALLY want to have the X3 on my new sled. But that's a driver change and some other things. It costs a lot of extra $$.

I rode the 850 in the following configurations:

155 x 2.6
155 x 3
163 x 2.6
163 x 3

I don't want a chaincase. I also don't want to spend extra $$ on a conversion to belt drive.

The 3" talks to you more. More vibration on the trail. More hook-up in the snow (and a little easier to bury yourself in the deep) and I got used to throttling it differently. I could depend on that 3" to get me out of things that I would have gotten stuck with on the old 2.4.

I know people who ride in videos that have owned and ridden everything...who are snowchecking the 2.6.

I snowchecked the 163 x 2.6.

Personal choice. Personal preference.

Last edited:

Scott

Scott Stiegler
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Nov 1, 1998
W Mont
My day with Polaris!!!

I rode with Marty Sampson, the director of the mountain snowmobiles division, and the engineers....PLUS Geoff "phatty" Dyer , Chris Brown, Eric Woog, Ross Robinson and ambassador Darin Pfost!!!

attachment.php

IMG_20180309_102946_263.jpg

polaris_guy13

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
My day with Polaris!!!