For support please email or pm Christopher christopher@snowestonline.com



Upgrade to Premium
Arctic Cat: Powder Special and older 2000 and older, all models in the Powder Special chassis and older chassis models
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2008, 08:47 PM
frozen north frozen north is offline
Currently: I want snow
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HAVRE,MT
Basic Member
Posts: 352
Thanks: 26
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 387316
frozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond repute
Default 98 powder special 600efi-cuts out in powder

Here is the question- I start it up-idles fine. Warm it up for awhile-fine.
I took off in the backyard today-about a foot of powder.
Got about 200 yards- wants to cut out and almost quit.
I stopped-let it idle -fine-
took off again-hit the powder- cuts out again.
lifted the hood up-snow inside the eng compartment,on top of air box, and on the trottle body.
Is this causing my delema?
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #2  
Old 12-20-2008, 07:09 AM
frozen north frozen north is offline
Currently: I want snow
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HAVRE,MT
Basic Member
Posts: 352
Thanks: 26
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 387316
frozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I checked the wiring connections-looks good.
It almost feels like the kill switch is being activated.
Any-suggestions??????????
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #3  
Old 12-20-2008, 08:11 AM
mountainguy mountainguy is offline
Currently: Not set.
Join Date: Nov 2007
Basic Member
Posts: 143
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 73689
mountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant future
Default

Make sure the throttle cable is adjusted right and not to loose. Also check the little washer on the throttle pin. Both are known trouble makers. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #4  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:01 AM
M7rocks M7rocks is offline
Currently: Not set.
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brigham City
Basic Member
Posts: 62
Thanks: 18
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 432093
M7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond reputeM7rocks has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Had the same problem, it was the internal safety switch, uplug it and see if your problem goes away. Due to the viberation over a period of time it will not operate as it did when new. Its a safety feature that cat puts in and I don't think they ever work right, I beleive, if yours is the three wire you can cut the middle wire and your kill switch will still work, if it's a two wire not sure how to get around it to make your kill switch still work...ideas anyone? Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #5  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:18 AM
frozen north frozen north is offline
Currently: I want snow
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HAVRE,MT
Basic Member
Posts: 352
Thanks: 26
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 387316
frozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Where is that switch located at??
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #6  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:39 AM
mountainguy mountainguy is offline
Currently: Not set.
Join Date: Nov 2007
Basic Member
Posts: 143
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 73689
mountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant futuremountainguy has a brilliant future
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frozen north View Post
Where is that switch located at??
Right in the handle bar by the throttle in my earlier post i did not say why the cable needs to be adjusted right but this is why.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #7  
Old 12-20-2008, 11:00 AM
Spike7ss Spike7ss is offline
Currently: Not set.
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Leduc Alberta Canada
Basic Member
Age: 34
Posts: 131
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 14
Spike7ss is on a distinguished roadSpike7ss is on a distinguished roadSpike7ss is on a distinguished road
Default

http://www.arcticchat.com/forums/ind...howtopic=27548

There is all the info you need if its your throttle safety switch.

I had the same problem, snipped the wire and away I go! Havent had a problem since
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #8  
Old 12-20-2008, 05:00 PM
frozen north frozen north is offline
Currently: I want snow
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HAVRE,MT
Basic Member
Posts: 352
Thanks: 26
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 387316
frozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond reputefrozen north has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You guys are "AWSOME" IT WORKS.
That was a nice diag.
It is like a new machine.

Thanks SNOWEST and the forum.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #9  
Old 12-21-2008, 12:06 AM
m_beeson m_beeson is offline
Currently: Not set.
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Utah
Basic Member
Age: 53
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 437
Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 21474848
m_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond reputem_beeson has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

just make sure that you tape, or heat-shrink your wire so that it doesn't ground out, otherwise it will be like hitting the kill switch.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 PM.












no new posts