• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

What's the deal with fuel boxes?

K
Dec 23, 2007
Hey guys...
I'm new to the Cat scene as of 3 days ago..
I'm now on an 08 M8, bone stock right now, and coming from an 800 RMK, I love it.

Over the summer, Im planning on Reeds, a pipe/can/y pipe, SLP's intake, and because I hear they're needed, a boondocker fuel box.

Now, my question is, what do these do?
Are they mandatory?
What if I, as a 16 year old, have no experience on an EFI sled, or how to tune air/fuel?!?

J-Dog

Lifetime Membership
Dec 13, 2007
Idaho Falls Id
slp set up

I hope to save you alot of problems . I had a 05 m7 I put pipes boondocker box ,reeds and intake on it . All I had was nothing but problems with it . The box makes it go from a sled that adjusts the fuel automatic to one that you have to all the time some times several times a day . The best thing is on your 800 you don't have to run a box on it if you use slp set up . So a long store short that is what I would do . Maybe call slp and talk to them.

U
Jan 15, 2008
Bellingham,WA
The minute u change anything from stock it deviates from the factory tuning (the motors computer). To adjust the fuel curve u nead the box. My advice to you is leave it stock. The M8 is a great sled stock. Ride it a year, then think about changing things.

K
Dec 23, 2007
Ok.
I kind of recall reading on here a while ago, a bunch of guys posting about how much trouble they've had with their Boondocker boxes.

So the ECU(??) will automatically adjust for the pipe, reeds, and intake?

And then all I'dhave to touch is the clutching, correct?

U
Jan 15, 2008
Bellingham,WA