• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

new to site please help

S
Nov 28, 2011
Hi there i am new to this sight and my friend told me to check it out that someone would know what the problem is with my sled. I just bought a 05 king cat 900 efi and the mods done are jaws can and air box mod. There is also a wack of suspension upgrades and a 2 1/2 inch track. I have the sled in the shop right now and my bill is sitting at 1100 dollars and they still don't know whats wrong with it.

Here is what is going on with it. When i start the sled up i starts perfect. I will let it run for roughly 15 minutes to warm it up and the sled with idle up and down. ( Not a big deal ) When i go to ride it and i punch the throttle the sled will bog like its running on one cylinder. If i keep it punched when its bogging it doesn't change just keeps bogging. Sometimes when i punch it it works fine but it will start to bog out again in the top end. The guy i bought the sled off of said when he parked it last year the sled ran perfect and never had an issue at all. What do you think it could be? I think the dealership is taking me for a ride and the next closest dealership is 20 hrs away

T
Apr 20, 2009
Washington
Have you lost any coolant? I had an 01 mtn cat with the 800 engine. Was loosing a lil bit of coolant on each ride with very similar problems. Eventually the crank bearings went. I think my longest ride was 5 miles with these symptoms. What was happening is coolant was leaking into the crank case (somehow) and was mixing water and fuel which was causing the random symptoms. Always fine at idle but when sloshing around the coolant was being picked up with the fuel and caused poor lubrication in the bottom end and next came a rebuild. Good luck.

Ryan-41

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Cheyenne, Wyoming
www.myspace.com