• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

174" x 2 1/2" with stock Drivers???

Oct 14, 2008
Eureka, Montana
What kind of luck and or problems are people having running the 174 x 3" pitch track on the stock 2.86" Drivers. Is it really necessary to go to 3" Drivers, they seem so to be almost the same? Please help i'm getting ready for the big swap.

J

jvb

Nov 26, 2007
stock drivers

Ive been running them on mine for two years no with zero issues.

xpspenziv

Premium Member
Feb 19, 2009
hanging out in a tree well at the top.
I was told that the cogs won't sit fully threw the Windows of the track meaning it its pulling on the top half of the cog. The spacing is different. After continuous use it will ware down the cogs on the drivers. Thus clearancing itself. Or could it stretch the windows on a clipped every 2-3 track?

winter brew

Premium Member
Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
LakeTapps, Wa.
What kind of luck and or problems are people having running the 174 x 3" pitch track on the stock 2.86" Drivers. Is it really necessary to go to 3" Drivers, they seem so to be almost the same? Please help i'm getting ready for the big swap.

Take a 2.86 driver and a 3" driver and set them in a 3" pitch track....wrap the track around the driver and you will see why it's better to run the correct driver. Yes, it will work....but it can only drive off one lug at any time rather than meshing with every lug. Some guys that ride alot of miles have seen enough wear that they had to keep tightening their track to keep it from ratcheting...when they switched to the correct drivers they noticed it to be smoother and just seemed to work better.

R

Red-eye

Dec 3, 2008
Sparwood, B.C. Can.