• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

M7 Burn Down Cause?

GBrown

Lifetime Membership
Dec 5, 2007
2006 M7 with Speedwerx 800BB, speedwerx single pipe and can, sno-pro intake, oil delete, Digitron EGTs and speedwerx reprogrammed ecu. PTO piston burned down in about 200 miles after build. I had checked wash (through the exhaust valve slot, maybe misleading view angle?) and plugs the first couple rides out and wash and plugs looked good (I am new at this so maybe I was misreading) with a max EGT of about 1150 (probe is 4" from piston skirt).

Sled ran great, which is what I understand they often do before burning down from too lean. EGTs the day it burned down were actually reading cooler on the PTO side so I suspected something was wrong but didn't think I was in danger of a burn down because it was running cooler, obviously I was wrong.

Can someone tell me by looking at the pictures was this burn down from too lean, detonation (bad gas?), or something else I'm not seeing.

Thanks,

Garrett

Mag Piston.jpg PTO Piston.jpg Mag Dome.jpg PTO Dome.jpg

C
Feb 1, 2008
Too Lean

The simple answer is that it was SIMPLY LEAN. The difficult answer is what caused it. Fuel program, plugged baro tube, highly oxygenated fuel??? Sorry for your bad luck.

GBrown

Lifetime Membership
Dec 5, 2007
Piston is installed in the correct direction. Not sure if that's the end of the ring or it broke, haven't pulled the jugs off yet.

Not sure what type of oil delete is installed as I bought the motor used prior to the rebuild. It was supposedly a speedwerx built hillclimb race motor so I suspect its whatever type they use but can't be sure. I premixed at 40:1.

GBrown

Lifetime Membership
Dec 5, 2007
From what I have tried to research it looks like the wash on the Mag side is OK and the wash on the PTO is almost non-existent. What would cause them to be different?

tundramonkey