• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Looking for advice on gear, pacs, probes, beacons etc - new to avy gear

M
Nov 27, 2007
manitoba, Canada
So here's the deal. I'm new to the whole avalanche survival gear thing. I'm a flatlander but will be going out to places where I wouldn't mind to have decent gear should the need arise. At this point in time I don't anticipate going anywhere real radical, but as I go out to higher elevation areas more and more, I could see the need for some high end gear.

Here's the facts that I will be trying to base a decision on.
1) likely to only be needed 2-3 times per year (its a min of 10 hour drive for me to anywhere with "avalanche zones) - I live in the middle of no where
2) I want gear that will work when needed, not cheap crap I cant rely on
3) serviceability -because of where I live, I'm hoping I don't have to send things half way around the world to keep them in working order

Thats the major ones, things like weight and so on would also be considered, just not to the degree of the others

Now what I'm looking for is suggestions on good, cost effective gear, and why someone would recommend it. I haven't done alot of research on anything specific yet, as I plain old just don't know where to start. As gear is suggested I will look into it and try and decide on something

I just need a few starting points

thanks all

ridgeclimber

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Maple Ridge B.C.
Avy gear