• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

fuel screw adjustment on 700 mtn max

S
Nov 2, 2008
I'm new to the mtn max and was wondering if it's possible to adjust the fuel screws with the carbs on the machine--it's a 2002 mtn max 700.

The manual I have says to adjust the idle to 1,500 rpms and then adjust each carb with the fuel screw until the motor reaches the highest rpms and then readjust the main idle screw again.

I just can't figure out how I'm going to adjust the fuel screws with the carbs attached:confused:. Any suggestions?

Thanks

M
Apr 2, 2002
Montana
The screws you are looking for are underneath the carbs. PITA. There are several aftermarket companies that build adjusters that you can adjust the screws with out taken the carbs off. (Bender, Northern Lites, MTN Performance all have designs that work.) with that said I have set mine and never have fiddled with them. I have Air Knobs by Northern Lites and they would be handy if they (carbs) fell out of tune, It has been set , forget it for me. My .02

not sure what book your reading that gives you that misinformation, all the yamaha manuals give you a specific number of turns out for a given altitude and temp. i have that info if you need it. like mentioned in the above post, its a set and forget, as per specs.

SRXSRULE

Lifetime Membership
Aug 25, 2002
Man the things I forget about untill someone makes a post like this bringing it up.

Adjusting the fuel screws is most noticable right when you get into the throttle. I had remote adjusters on all my 2-strokes and adjusted them often when temp changes. This was manily when I was drag racing ice/snow/grass.

Unless you have remote adjusters you have to remove the carbs to adjust them, then put everything back together and test drive it, then re-adjust. good times. Eric

S
Nov 2, 2008