• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Ice fishing help.........mn

S
Nov 1, 2008
Sabin MN
So Im new to ice fishing so Im a rookie, but my brother in law who is very seasoned is not. We fished all weekend (3 days) and only caught perch, and a buzz. It was fun but I was expecting more fish.......some northern or maybe a few walleye would have been great. It was not for lack of trying, we moved around, had a vexilar, used different baits and tip ups and probably drilled 100 holes over the weekend. Hell, we even speared for 3 hours and only saw a mud puppy and 2 perch. We even had the wives with for a while so we had alot of lines in the water( 2 per person). He is from N Dakota, Devils lake, Stump lake and Tolna dam are his native fishing waters and he said its never that slow. Anyways if anyone has any tips for ice fishing it would be greatly appreciated, you can only catch so many perch before that gets kinda boring, and no locals seam to wanna give any tips, "Yah fishings kinda slow right know" is about all they say. We are fishing Big Cormorant MN, but can pull the portable with the sleds to another lake if its close. THANKS

S

Shelfrost

Nov 28, 2007
Chetwynd, BC, Canada
Mwahhh mmmmaahh mhha wma womms wmmm!!!!!!

(translates to "you gotta keep the worms warm")!

xrated

Lifetime Membership
Jul 20, 2004
Plainview, MN
Gotta figure out when the feed bags are on and it will be pounding action.

If you get into big perch it is fun.

Otherwise tipups for pike and jigging for panfish.

Besides, everyone knows ice fishing is good for drinking.

wjl

Lifetime Membership
Mar 29, 2008
Eden, UTAH
Out here in Utah on the lake in front of me that is all the guys catch is perch.