• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Who carries spare plugs?

High Voltage

Lifetime Membership
Jan 30, 2003
Helena, MT
I’m new to the 850, and seems odd not having a spare set of plugs/ wrench along. Has anyone had a failure?

Adam12

Lifetime Membership
Apr 16, 2014
Sisters, OR
I picked up a spare set, just because I always had a set with my old sled. Then I realized what a PITA it must be to get to them on the 850. Let's hope we don't have to trail change.

B

BradM8

Aug 4, 2012
Not sure about the 850s but have heard of etecs fouling them when cold. Saw it first hand during the Christmas break when his 2015 XM fouled both plugs and we couldn't get it running. Loaded it up in the morning and hrs latter wouldnt start because the plugs fouled. The spare plugs are expensive but in my opinion are worth getting as its not worth ruining a day or a helicopter ride out.

Chadly

Forum Expert
Lifetime Membership
Aug 28, 2013
Snohomish, WA
People who own Polaris's carry spare plugs :face-icon-small-hap
Have you looked what it takes to change the plugs? It's a near impossible task. I'd rather hike out :face-icon-small-con

High Voltage

Lifetime Membership
Jan 30, 2003
Helena, MT
People who own Polaris's carry spare plugs :face-icon-small-hap
Have you looked what it takes to change the plugs? It's a near impossible task. I'd rather hike out :face-icon-small-con

Lol that’s what I was thinking. I’m going to go without, and cross my fingers!

snoblind04

Lifetime Membership
Nov 29, 2007
Western Wyoming
I carry them, but I know I couldn't change them in the hills, it's quite the job. I've also never fouled a plug on it etec.

P
Nov 28, 2007
Yukon Canada
Never had a problem with plugs on the 4 summits I had, however one of my friends had a issue just a week ago.

He tried to start the sled at -30 -- if it does not keep running it over fuels.