For support please email or pm Christopher christopher@snowestonline.com



Upgrade to Premium
Video Cameras All things Video
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2012, 08:48 AM
adairtd1's Avatar
adairtd1 adairtd1 is offline
Currently: Not set.
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: La Grande, Oregon
Age: 35
Posts: 275
Thanks: 66
Thanked 81 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 8633393
adairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Mounting Contour ROAM2

I bought a contour ROAM2 last week to helmet mount and mount to my sled for this season, and I was just wondering how people are mounting these.

I used the right side profile mount that came with it to mount it to my helmet, I think I got it lined up so that it sees what I see, but I was wondering if there is a better helmet mount option. Anyone using the 360 degree helmet mount on top? Here is how I have it right now -



The only thing I do not like about it there is it interfering with my quick straps, but its not as bad as it would be on the other side of the helmet, where the velcro is.

I also got their heavy duty suction cup mount after seeing a youtube video with one mounted to the tunnel of a sled, and I still have the rotating flat surface mount that came with the camera, I could put that somewhere on the sled as well.

Also, should I get the waterproof case for the camera? I would think it may not be needed so much mounted to my helmet, but it might come into contact with a lot of snow if it is on the sled.

Sled is a 2011 turbo nytro BTW.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #2  
Old 11-16-2012, 09:03 AM
Quinlan's Avatar
Quinlan Quinlan is online now
Currently: ND Meatball Crew
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ND
Age: 30
Posts: 461
Thanks: 11
Thanked 78 Times in 59 Posts
Rep Power: 8181328
Quinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

I use a rotating mount on the left side. The rotating aspect is nice so you can get the proper up/down angle once it's mounted. You only have to be careful of the left/right angle for the "perfect" shot. Mine's mounted up higher so it does not interfere with my quick straps. I also like it on the left side so I can operate the throttle and still turn the camera on/off.




I see your quick straps are mounted higher than mine though, so my setup may not work for you...

And there should be no need for a waterproof case...the ROAM model is waterproof by itself.

Last edited by Quinlan; 11-16-2012 at 09:08 AM.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
The Following User Says Thank You to Quinlan For This Useful Post:
adairtd1 (11-16-2012)
  #3  
Old 11-16-2012, 09:18 AM
adairtd1's Avatar
adairtd1 adairtd1 is offline
Currently: Not set.
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: La Grande, Oregon
Age: 35
Posts: 275
Thanks: 66
Thanked 81 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 8633393
adairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond reputeadairtd1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Thank you.

I think normally that would work, but since I have my quick straps so high, the ridges off the back vents of my F4 helmet prevent the rotating mount from sticking fully right there.

Also, are you using the tether to anything? I do not see where I could tether it too, and I don't really want to drill holes or anything in the helmet.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #4  
Old 11-16-2012, 09:32 AM
Quinlan's Avatar
Quinlan Quinlan is online now
Currently: ND Meatball Crew
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ND
Age: 30
Posts: 461
Thanks: 11
Thanked 78 Times in 59 Posts
Rep Power: 8181328
Quinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

Yes, I do tether my contour. It saved itself once when the adhesive on the mount let loose on a frigid day riding in the trees. I attach the helmet portion to the visor screw, running the loop underneath the visor.
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
The Following User Says Thank You to Quinlan For This Useful Post:
adairtd1 (11-16-2012)
  #5  
Old 11-25-2012, 08:39 AM
clatla's Avatar
clatla clatla is offline
Currently: Watching SnoTel
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 321
Thanks: 37
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Rep Power: 2495447
clatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond reputeclatla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I have a Contour GPS. I have it mounted on the right side with the profile mount. I just ordered a new helmet so need to figure out how to mount it. Thinking the rotating one would be nice. The problem is that mount is flat. The profile will bend to the shape of the helmet. I have a short tether I thread my helmet strap through it. No worries about losing it. BTW I use the straps that come with the goggles so no quick straps.
__________________
15' Summit X 163"
13' Summit 146"
09' Renegade
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #6  
Old 01-06-2013, 10:55 AM
snowmoherb's Avatar
snowmoherb snowmoherb is offline
Currently: Need... more... snow!
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seattle - ish
Age: 50
Posts: 564
Thanks: 682
Thanked 313 Times in 145 Posts
Rep Power: 21474844
snowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond reputesnowmoherb has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Just mounted mine yesterday with the rotating flat mount. Even though the helmet is a little curved, the mount is flexible enough that it works well. Used the tether to attach it to my goggle strap


Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
  #7  
Old 01-23-2013, 10:39 AM
Quinlan's Avatar
Quinlan Quinlan is online now
Currently: ND Meatball Crew
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ND
Age: 30
Posts: 461
Thanks: 11
Thanked 78 Times in 59 Posts
Rep Power: 8181328
Quinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond reputeQuinlan has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

I just got back from a trip trying out my new Contour mount. I used a vented helmet mount and weaved it through my visor. I found for my setup, I will need to add a little foam to the front portion of the mount so the recording frame is tilted up a little bit higher, but it didn't turn out too bad. I really like how the camera is now centered on everything, and not shifted towards one side like it is with a surface mount.

Reply With Quote


Rate this post: Yes | No
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thread — GO PRO or Contour Thread Starter — mgcm1000 Forum — Utah Replies — 17 Last Post — 12-08-2011 02:26 PM
Thread — contour roam Thread Starter — suitcase Forum — Electronics Replies — 8 Last Post — 11-30-2011 10:53 PM
Thread — Contour does it again...again ;) Thread Starter — tudizzle Forum — General Snowmobiling Replies — 24 Last Post — 05-21-2011 11:01 AM
Thread — Distance between front mounting bolt and rear mounting bolt? Thread Starter — tinman1980 Forum — Polaris: EDGE Replies — 0 Last Post — 01-30-2010 11:05 AM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:53 AM.

no new posts