• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Is a GPS a requirement--Another GPS Thread

S

seth25

Jan 9, 2008
Sedalia, CO
The wife and I just started riding last year. We moslty just did trail riding with a little meadow riding just to get the hang of it. We ride in Colorado. This year we want to venture off the trails a bit more and find some deeper riding.

I am trying to convince the wife that a GPS is a must have safety item. This year we will be riding at Rabbit Ears, Snowy Range and places such as this. I am telling her that the GPS is a must have incase we get turned around and need to know the way back to the trailer. The places we rode last year were cleary marked areas and it was easy to find our way back.

I like the Garmin 60 Csx. I don't need the two way radio of the rhino series. However, she just started a new job and would like a GPS that is also car friendly. I know that you can get city maps for the 60 csx, but how detailed and user friendly is it in the car? Is there a better GPS that is car friendly, but is also good in remote areas for sledding? I will probably be mounting it to my sled with a Rhino mount.

Thanks for the help, I know, not ANOTHER GPS thread!!!

O
Dec 3, 2001
Ontario, Canada
My opinion is to get the 60CSx for the trail and a cheap(er) Nuvi for the car.

The better units (278, 378, 478) which will serve for both purposes are quite a bit more expensive. They are also less portable compared to the 60CSx.

S

Spector

Nov 26, 2007
Calgary, AB
You should check out the Garmin nuvi 550. It has more of the traditional car features but is a crossover unit designed for off road as well.

S

Schism

Nov 30, 2007
North Dakota