• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Debating snowbike

Brent7

Lifetime Membership
Feb 1, 2017
La Grande, Or.
I got a new snowmobile this year and I am in the process of selling my old sled. My plan was to get a new bike with the money from my sled. My buddy offered me a pretty good price (I think) on a 2011 yz450 with a dts129. 5500? Is it worth the blunge with that bike and track setup? I haven't ridden a snowbike before but I've been around them. If I didnt like it how much could I get out of the track setup? Any info would be appreciated. Thanks

C
Mar 9, 2017
Lethbridge, AB
my snowbike is down right now so I went and rode my 12 summit with a buddy the other day... man sledding sucks!!! doesnt help that im a super beginner with broken knees and ankles, but theyre hard to ride, tippy when you dont want them to be, not tippy when you need, got stuck too often, couldnt go very cool/tight places. theyre heavy and exhausting to muscle around all day long and jumping from running board to running board riding one legged. I just didnt have fun and I can NOT wait to get back on the snowbike.

one thing about snowbiking though is it takes 2 or 3 rides to get comfortable on it.. it did for me and a co-worker at least. feels funny at the start. maybe the snow conditions I learned on sucked and the bike wasnt set up the best, but the ski and riding in hard pack takes a little getting used to before you trust it. takes a few rides to learn what it can and cant do. they really are unstoppable once you trust it and figure it out. we both had the "man, maybe this isnt for me and I just wasted $18,000" moments on our very first day. now that we got a few rides under our belt, we wouldnt trade it for the world.

other than that, I guarantee youll love it and have more fun than you did sledding. it just doesnt compare.

Last edited:
B