• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Gsxr 1000??

K
Jan 3, 2017
Well it’s the middle of summer, perfect snowbike dreaming weather. Anyways I bought a crashed 08 gsxr 1000 that I was planning on fixing, but motor runs perfect and now I have the stupid idea for for a 1000 snowbike, or is it a stupid idea? I’ve been riding my kx5 on a 16 ts Lt for a few years now and love it but always looking for more power. I’ve been thinking of putting that motor in a motocross frame like those open class hill climb bikes. It seems to work for them. Just wondering what you guys think? I know some people have done this before me any insights would be awesome. The way I figure it the gsxr motor is about 60 lbs heavier but almost 3x the horse power!

K
Jan 3, 2017
I’ve watched a lot of those videos already which is why I think this idea has potential. They are really fast and powerful but seem to loose a lot in handling, like in the trees. I don’t want to build a hill climb snowbike. I have a sled to climb hills. I know adding weight will make it harder through the trees regardless but I think if I swap it into a motocross frame I won’t loose that much in terms of handling. There are a few problems I see like where to put the radiator but I figure I could make a tunnel cooler and ditch the radiator. Also not sure on a gas tank. Most of the hill climb bikes have a extremely small tanks.
post-361714-13805226022853.jpg

Here is an example of a hill climber with one of these motors. Looks like they fit it in there nicely.

Last edited:
K
Jan 3, 2017
Wow