• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Sled moves 50ft then refuses to move

K
Dec 31, 2012
Burley, Idaho
Hello,
My son started up the 85 SS Polaris 440 air twin, and it'll run 50-75 ft on the grass, then won't move any more.
I can lift the back end and it'll spin the track.
Cleaned the carb, that was all good.
Moved track and driven pulley by hand, it's not binding up.
So, wondering about the clutch.
I am new to clutches. The sled ran fine on the snow, but on the grass, no go.
Wondering if I need to go through the clutch.
If so, what identifying marks do I need to post here to help get some guidance on going through the clutch?
Thank you,
KRS

V

volcano buster

Nov 26, 2007
Stayton Oregon
When you hit the end of its movement what do you see happening under the hood?
Is the primary clutch spinning but not engaging the belt?
Is the belt spinning and not turning the secondary clutch?
Are both clutches spinning and the track isn't responding?

retiredpop

Lifetime Membership
Jul 3, 2001
Calgary
Hello,
My son started up the 85 SS Polaris 440 air twin, and it'll run 50-75 ft on the grass, then won't move any more.
I can lift the back end and it'll spin the track.
Cleaned the carb, that was all good.
Moved track and driven pulley by hand, it's not binding up.
So, wondering about the clutch.
I am new to clutches. The sled ran fine on the snow, but on the grass, no go.
Wondering if I need to go through the clutch.
If so, what identifying marks do I need to post here to help get some guidance on going through the clutch?
Thank you,
KRS

Try opening the gate so he can get through it. LOL.