• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Why I started riding Yamaha again

Turblue

Lifetime Membership
Jun 11, 2004
Alberta
So just wanted to do a blurb on why I went back to Yamaha, compared to the previous sleds I have owned. First off I’ve been riding since I was able to walk....now in my 40’s, ive seen a lot change in the sledding industry. It’s actually amazing the technology available for the these sleds. Reliability isnt even a question anymore...they just flat out work.

I grew up on a snojet sst440 and a 1986 Yamaha Enticer. Drove those sleds until you could see Saskatchewan stubble through the skis....Lol. From there I bought my very first brand new sled...1995 Yamaha Vmax 600...this sled is what I had when I transitioned from flat farm riding, to the mountains. Wow...big eye opener there. From there I went to a new 1997 Skidoo 670 summit...man this thing was night and day difference in the mountains, compared to the Vmax 600. Then I bought a used 1999 Polaris rmk 700...ended up installing a 151 on it and it worked well.

A buddy of mine bought a Yamaha RX1 and we all laughed...man that thing is a tank. Then he turbocharged it and did some chassis work....ahhh yeah...I want one.....unbelievable...the power was addictive. So, I sold the Polaris and bought a 2006 Yamaha Apex turbo...this sled was a lot of fun...road it for almost 6 year. Had done quite a bit of modding to it in that time. The downfall to this sled was it’s weight...so I traded it for a used 2008 Yamaha nytro...I can honestly say this sled wasn’t that much fun...I think it’s was mostly because of the m10 rear suspension, but I was pretty excited the day I seen it leave.