• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Looking To Buy a Quality Video Camera for Sledding??

D

Duke

Jan 16, 2005
Can anyone recommend a good quality video camera for filming??

D

Duke

Jan 16, 2005
I dont know what I want to spend?? What do you movie guys use??

J
Nov 30, 2007
Clovis, California
i shoot with a panasonic HVX-200HD camera. it records to P2 cards in the camera for hi-def and it also has a miniDV if you want that. camera price new is about $6 to 7$ (depending on package) and the P2 cards can be $1500 each (depending on size). i've got well over $10K in my entire package but i do tv stuff for a living.

there are a ton of great HD camcorders in the consumer category (some with 3-chip pickups) in the $700 to $1200 range. there are also different kinds of media storage with these cameras. some save the HD footy to a small dvd-like disc and some to flash drives or sticks. you should figure out how much you want to spend and then go get the camera you like in that range. sony cameras are a little over priced and proprietary as far as what other devices they will talk to. i like the canon and panasonic cameras...like the the canon HF-100 or the panasonic HDC-DX1...both are about $900 and rock for handycams. get a little tripod and fluid head to shoot with and your stuff will look better than about half of the current sled films on the market! LOL! :)

jeff

D

Duke

Jan 16, 2005
I am not looking to spend more than about 2G, just like to have a decent camera for when its needed.

A
Feb 21, 2008
The Canon HV20 takes great high def video. (It is under $700 now that a new model is out.) It is small enough to put in your pocket and take along.

Outdoors with good light it is a little better than my 3 ccd Sony HDR-FX1.

You will want a tripod. Shake is more noticeable with high def.

I
Nov 26, 2007