• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Boondocker sidekick help needed

Jul 22, 2009
A buddy just picked up a 16 Axys 155 x2.6 with Sidekick. Only about 450 miles on sled but was purchased remotely. Yesterday was it’s first day on the snow for my buddy and there are issues. Allegedly it’s clutched for 8-10k ft which is where we ride; we will be tearing into it to confirm.

The symptoms are weird, if you clamp the throttle it’ll jump to 8,400 RPMs for literally just a second and then quickly drop back down to 7300-7400, if not less. If you keep it clamped at this 7300 RPM it’ll start bogging in and out and even backfire sometimes. It’s not throwing any codes.

I’m new to turbos myself so we’re trying to figure out where to start. Obviously we’ll be calling Boondocker tomorrow but seeing if there is any advice on here too. Any help or starting points would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jul 22, 2009
I should also have added that I’m not totally convinced that this is even a turbo issue but wanted to post it here too. Few thoughts I’ve had... bad gas (some was from last year, not exactly sure how much - maybe 4 gallons, bad plug, would a temp sensor do this?, would reeds do this?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nater24

Lifetime Membership
Dec 5, 2010
Had same issue

I had almost the identical issue as you at about 400 miles. Below are all the things that I have done over the last 2 seasons. I'm on a 2016 axys 155 track with a the sidekick turbo and ride at 9k-10k feet.

I hope this helps

1. Replaced Spark Plugs
a. No Change
2. Removed fuel and used new fuel (91 non ethonal and 100 octane race fuel mixed to 93 octane which is necessary to prevent detonation at above 9k feet for my sled)
3. Checked both Clutch Springs, Rollers, Cam Arms etc….
a. No issues, No Change
4. Replaced Primary Spring
a. No Change
5. Replaced Clutch Belt