• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

IQR mountain handling

I

IdahoPowderHound

Jul 3, 2008
Alpine Wyoming
Just wondering if anyone else has had alot of seat time on the Raw chassie and a mountain converted IQR. I had a IQ chassie for two years then went to a 05 IQR with a 155 rear skid and 43" Z' Broz front end. I can no were close to sidehill as good, carve as easy or just ride the sled like i could the IQ chassie. I am no novice to ridding sleds and i can ride this sled very good but it just seems that it takes twice the effort to do so. So my question is, is it just rider pref. or setup? The sled has a 685 struthers and a 155 iq skid. exit shocks in the back and floats up front. Any info at all would be great, as if its setup then id like to get it done now before the snow flies, thanks

M
Jul 11, 2008
Hey there-
I have 3 IQrs and a 09 155 RMK.
Front end width is key- I have a dragon front end on my 150" IQR800. The front of my skid is mounted pretty low, and the skis are super narrow (I think 39"?). The thing falls right over, and carves like a mofo, only downside is ski lift (not perfect for himarking, but super fun for corness busting!
The Polaris Gripper skis are money! I have those on the 150" and my 136" and the rmk.
My spring sled is a 45" wide short track with the Uzi II skis on it. Its a pig to carve! the sled feels 50 pounds heavier then my big girl, and I have to work at keeping it on its side!
I ride with soft suspension on the skis and back of the skid, and stiffer and lower mounted front skid. kinda like having a more distinct pivot point in the center of the sled.

Sounds like a great setup that you have- Maybe borrow a buddies front dragon suspension for the weekend???
This is just how I like my sleds, but everyone will have a different idea!
Good luck-
Matt

I

IdahoPowderHound

Jul 3, 2008
Alpine Wyoming