• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

adding reverse

K
Oct 16, 2008
Northern BC
Hi guys,
I am looking at adding reverse to my 2001 800 mxz, electronic or mechanical.
I know you can get electronic reverse for that year of sled, but can you get mechanical? Is adding electronic reverse just as simple as changing the computer box (no engine mods to be done?)? Is there any aftermarket kits for this mod? I am pretty new to snowmobiling, so I am all questions right now!

H
Dec 21, 2001
Meridian, Idaho
kvfrider-Welcome to the forum!

Yes there was RER available in the late model 2001 MXZ's but if your sled did not have it than it is not as simple as changing out the MPEM module. I did it to my 01 Summit this summer and looking back, it was pretty straight forward. Here is what you will need:

1. First you need to pull off you starter assy and peek up into the upper left crankcase area were your pickup is located and see if the case was machined with the additional pocket for the second pickup. Most of them were but some were not. If not, you are dead in the water....if it is there, than you are in business.

2. You will need a complete wiring harness from a 2002 Summit or MXZ (ZX chassis) as they are all the same and wired for RER even if the sled didn't come with it. ***It has to be a 2002 model because in 2003 they changed from the 290W iginition system and then this mod would get more difficult***

3. You will need a magneto (flywheel) from an RER model (2002 only).

4. You will need a dual pickup coil from any 02 Summit or MXZ with RER.