• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2008 nytro mtx turbo mcx 270

N
Nov 9, 2013
hi everyone im new to this 4 stroke turbo Yamaha world but I just picked up a 2008 Yamaha mtx nytro and it has the mcx 270 kit just wondering what other people thought of the kit on how they like it and will I be ok with just running premium fuel in it? its running at 12 pounds of boost and I was wondering what kind of speeds I should be reaching with it Ive only hit like 95 and the guy before said he had it around 130 not sure if that right or am I doing something wrong or should change? and one last thing the guy said he took it out west and also rode it around Duluth mn and now im in central wi do I have to do anything with the calibration of it or just turn down the clutch? it has the shockwave clutch.. some input would be greatly appreciated thank you!!

M
Jan 14, 2004
The 270 kit should be running at 17lbs at elevation and probably 14ish at sea level, somebody at sea level jump in here, at 12 lbs you are only making about 220 horse so your clutching is probably way off if it's set up for 17 lbs. It's never a good idea to adjust your clutching via the secondary. The sled needs to pull about 8800 rpms. First off get the boost where it needs to be. You may have some exhaust leaks which would account for the low boost numbers. There may also be some leaks on the compressor side of the system, check that too. Make sure all that is good before you start chasing your tail. If the boost is just set to low you will need to shorten the actuator rod on the turbo itself. The rod needs in the area of 1/16th to 1/8th inch of preload, maybe a bit more. How many miles on the kit/sled. Pump premium is all you should need

IMO the MCX kit by which all others are measure when it comes to reliability, they all make power, some have less lag, but by in large the MCX kit is bullet proof.