• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Air box? What the #$%^

A
Apr 30, 2008
Anch, AK
I have a 440 air box that is not fitting very well. The sled is new to me and right of the bat I can tell that the air box does not fit over the carbs when the rubber strap is on the air box. Has anyone had this problem? And if so what did you do to fix this? I am a welder so I am considering making a sheet metal air box out of alum with carb boots from my doo 440 but before I get into that I would like to use the factory box. help

The Bob

Premium Member
Mar 1, 2008
MN
If the metal that the airbox rests on (back of box) is bent backwards it will cause the airbox's to not fit correctly. I had this problem on one I was building. Finally replaced that metal, think it was like $15.00 from polaris, then the airbox stayed on.

die hard poo

Lifetime Membership
Apr 10, 2008
Kenai, AK
Sometimes you will have to trim the holes on the airbox to fit the boot on the carb. I had to do this to mine to fit it right, try boring it out a little and I stick my hand inside the box to make sure it is seated good all the way around each the carbs.

A

AkLogan

Nov 26, 2007
Kenai, Alaska
ditto to what die hard said mine was a PITA if it was any sort of cold out side. Polaris did a pretty crappy job on the boots. Remove the boots and trim the airbox a touch on the bottom and u should be good to go. Sticking your hand down the air box is about the best trick that i found even after trimming it

Jan 10, 2008
Sometimes you will have to trim the holes on the airbox to fit the boot on the carb. I had to do this to mine to fit it right, try boring it out a little and I stick my hand inside the box to make sure it is seated good all the way around each the carbs.