• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

To rebuild or not to rebuild - 06 Rev 800HO

P

phillybean

Feb 4, 2012
Kelowna BC
I have a 06 Rev 800 X with a 800HO engine. I bought it for $5500 last year, it has a big wheel kit, new track, new tunnel suspension, after market clutch and pipe. It's a great sled which runs great, but will have around 3800 miles by the end of the season. The engine is stock and not even the top end has been rebuilt (bought sled at 2900 miles).

My question is what to do, rebuild the top end, top & bottom, put in a new engine, sell the sled and get something with fewer miles or ride it until it goes? Money is a bit of an issue as the wife wasn't happen I bought it at all and dropping a few more grand into wouldn't help matters. I'm also pretty new with this and don't know a lot about sleds in general.

Thanks

Matte Murder

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
May 4, 2011
Or keep your eye open for a good low mileage sled that is being parted out or sold with a wrecked chassis. I am amazed at how many 3-6 year old sleds I see for sale with less than 500 miles. I just bought a trailer from a guy and he had 4 Polaris sleds from 2006-2008 and none of them had more than 500 miles. You might get lucky.

M
Dec 6, 2010
Ogden UT
I would sale it or rebuild top and bottom end, reason being that at about 4000 miles the cranks are very known to go out and when this happens in most cases including mine it will wipe out your cylinder and head on the pto side, causing an expensive fix.. another option would be to buy a BRP short block with your motor as a core for around $1500 (fastest and probably most reliable way) my .02 from experiance

Z
Nov 27, 2007
Missoula MT