• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

95 xlt needle, seats, Jets

D
Feb 2, 2008
Hello, Could use any suggestion here. This is my first attempt at working on these carbs. I need to replace the needle&seat and the jet .
I read that I should get the needle with the vitron tips, but looking in the dennis kirk catalog, it isnt abliable. Is this the right on to get(without the viton. Or is the another place to go besides dealer.
Also I read that I may want to get the main jets 1 or to 2 sizes larger, as the factory ones made the xlt run to rich.
Last, was would be the right jetting for 2000- 5000 feet?
I know I have a bit to learn, but any suggestions would be great.
Thanks

B
Mar 14, 2011
Beav-town, OR
The XLT's are know for running hot (lean) I would fatten it up maybe one jet size and probably 2 or 3 if it is piped or anything like that. I have pipes and I am running 3 up from stock to keep it a little more rich. then found that moving my E clip on jet needle down 1 spot is good to then a little tweak on the idle screw. I have learned by guess and check. But remember high alt is thin so go fat and low alt is fat so lean it out just a tad. But from 2k-5k you will use the same setup, just get ready for some on the trail tweaking.

retiredpop

Lifetime Membership
Jul 3, 2001
Calgary
Some general info:

As the jet number goes up it flows more fuel so machine will run richer.

Altitude and temperature affect what jets you need. As altitude goes up you need smaller jets. Similarly as it goes down you need bigger jets.

As temperature goes up you need smaller jets and vice versa. So as you can see it is a balancing act between temperature and altitude.

In your case where you don't have a lot of change in altitude you just have to mainly be concerned with temperature.