• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Dumb question

B
Jan 25, 2010
Ronald Washington
im new to the turbo world so I have a lot of questions................ sooooo I have an blown up apex with a boondockers kit.(for sale) so heres the Q

Could I take the turbo its self and put it on say an arctic cat m1100 turbo so I get more power............be easy on me im just asking hahaha

I would have a professional do the work. if its possible

Shattered1

Lifetime Membership
Oct 10, 2012
Juneau, AK
You certainly could put the turbo on an Arctic Cat 1100, but you won't get the power that the boosted Apex had.

Arctic Cat had high hopes for the 1100 four stroke, but it isn't producing the power that they had hoped for when boosted. It can still produce a respectable amount of power (I've been hearing 250 hp can be expected from a boosted Arctic Cat 1100. I'm sure you could squeeze more out if you wanted, but I expect the engine will grenade if you push it too far.), but not what the three and four cylinder boosted four strokes will.

I have no evidence to offer other than observation and what I've read, but it seems that the more cylinders you have, the more horsepower you will get per cubic centimeter.

For example, a four cylinder Yamaha Apex engine is 998 cc and produces about 160 hp stock. A three cylinder Yamaha Nytro engine is 1049 cc and produces about 130 hp stock, even though it has 51 cc more than the Apex engine. This holds true when boosted as well.

I don't know the physics behind it, but when you throw more cylinders into the equation, you seem to get more horsepower. This was apparent when the two stroke triples hit the scene. A lot of riders still covet their two stroke triples and will hang on to them until they can no longer be rebuilt.