• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Supplemental income ideas

Z
Nov 26, 2007
Sioux Falls, SD
Just seeing if anyone has any good ideas on this one. We are pregnant and have found out that our son will have a sever disability. We are getting closer to due date and logistically it’s looking like my wife will have to quit her job to stay home with him. So in the past few months I have been trying to re-balance our budget since our income has been cut by 30% and our expenses have increase by 20% the only option left to keep us in our current home without having to sell and buy something cheaper would be for me to pick up some extra income a month. I really don’t need much, it’s more of a cushion than anything, maybe $500 a month. I’m not scared to work hard but I also don’t want to be working 24/7 because after all I do have a family and I need time with them.
I’m an engineer by day but a jack of all trades by evening/weekend….so I think using my handyman skills might be my best bet. I have worked construction in the past, have helped my brother build his home, have finished my own basement, built decks, pergolas, gazebos, ect, ect. I thought about putting an ad on craigslist to work for an hourly rate helping with anyone’s project that might need help but those jobs typically only keep you busy in the summer. I’m really drawing for straws at this point, anyone know of any good opportunities for someone like me?

ruffryder

Lifetime Membership
Aug 14, 2002
I would talk about this with the company that you work for.

Would a 50% pay cut for extra hours worked above 45 or so still be above what you would make doing side construction business?

Fire

Lifetime Membership
Jan 27, 2010
One option is to look at the many jobs in western North Dakota oil boom. It is tough finding a place to live though. Really good incomes right now.

polaris dude

Lifetime Membership