• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

HELP!!! Bolt broke off in drive shaft in chain case

Throttle-Up

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Lethbridge Alberta
www.leekseeker.com
I bought an 05 600 RMK for my wife. The sled looked to be in really nice shape, so I thought. :eek:
Got it home and went to change the chain case oil and found a huge problem!:mad: The bolt that holds the lower gear on was sheared off and the head and washer was laying on the bottom of the case. Gear and chain appear to be ok. I spent 3 hours drilling the inside of the shaft carefully attempting to get the the bolt out of the shaft but have not been sucessful so far.
Anyone have any suggestions? I've been sledding for over 20 years and have never seen or experienced this sort of thing before. Also, What torque specs do I tighten the new bolt up to? I am looking for ANY tricks or tips you guys will share! I am pi$$ed about this, but thankful I found it before we went riding. It would have made a big mess if I had not caught it.

Thanks,

P
Nov 28, 2007
Glenville, Minnesota
If it has never been off them bolts were lock tightened in so if you give it a little heat (torch) it might come out with a easy out but you know what they say "there's nothing easy about easy outs" another thing that you might want to do is take the drive shaft out of the sled so the seal does not get to hot in the chain case and it will be easier to work on.

T

theultrarider

Nov 26, 2007
Soldotna Alaska