• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Can you reflash a 06' 900 RMK from SLP's reflash, back to stock reflash?

D

dude

Dec 3, 2007
Kamas, Utah
Can you reflash a 06' 900 RMK from the SLP reflash, back to stock reflash / flash? I'm having a hell of a time figuring out why my brand new 06 900 RMK is cutting out at about 5,200 rpm's, and again at 6,600 rpm's. It seems to happen right before a bit of a power band (6,900rpm and up) kicks in if you know what I mean. I had it at the dealer a few times to go through the process of elimination and so far no luck. So here's what I'm thinking...

What I'm considering doing is trying the sled with the stock pipe and can to see if it still cuts out. I'm no mechanic, but I'm pretty sure we would need to reflash it back to stock specs from the SLP reflash specs if we try this option.

My sled has done this cutting out from mile 1 to mile 300, and has had the following mods since mile 1, so I don't know if it would have run right had I not put any mods on it.

-SLP high altitude head
-SLP single pipe, y pipe, and can
-V-force 3reeds
-Fire and Ice airbox
-Aside from that the other modes are venting, touque arms etc. etc...

No codes are being thrown from the computer. The dealer has checked the following sensors; egt, tps, & air temp. They have also re reflashed it with new reflash codes from SLP. And they checked the v-force reeds. After checking the sensors and reflashing it, they told me they thought it had to be the SLP head, so I put the stock head back on, and it still cuts out right at the same spots, around 5,200 rpm and 6,600 rpm. The motor will come right out of it, snap to life, and run spot on at all other RPM ranges right up to 7,900 without missing a beat. I'm trying to convince the dealer to put in a new ecu? They do not seem to think that could be it.