• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

780 bored to an 809 problem

R
Jan 2, 2008
Have a motor i bought used off snowest. Keeps catching a ring on the exhaust port. Must be on the down stroke. Can i just chamfer off the bottom of the exhaust port so that it won't snag it? It's done it twice with 2 different styles of pistons. Any help would be appeciated...thanks

R
Jan 2, 2008
Motor has been ported. Built by Val simmons when i first got it. Can't tell if the exhaust ports have been opened up, kinda looks like it. I'm no expert. Mechanic that just rebuilt it last said piston clearance was fine. I'm not much help, sorry. Just tired of buying junk motors. This is number 2 from snowest, built by professionals. thanks

M

modsledr

Nov 26, 2007
Western WA
are you sure you're catching a ring, and not experiencing detonation?

What is your compression ratio?
What kind of fuel are you running?
Is it always the same cylinder? And if yes, which one?
Do you have a pic of the top of one of the bad pistons?

Give us some more info so we can help you.

R
Jan 2, 2008
Not sure, on the pto piston it pulled the exhaust side top edge. Started too on the other 2 pistons. also. Haven't dealt with detonation too much to see what it does to pistons. But i ran 2 gallons of race gas in each tank. Don't think it is detonation.

If it is the exhaust ports opened too wide. Is that fixable? thanks for all your help...

R
Jan 2, 2008
I've heard mixed feelings about going bigger with these motors. Some say they don't run any better? But i'm kinda screwed the way it is. Anybody have experience doing it? Who would be a good person to send it too? thanks
will try and post some pictures...thanks

D
Oct 19, 2003
Rapid City, South Dakota
If this is an engine truly built by Simmons it should be a STRONG engine.