• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

My 05 900 is my daily driver, can anyone help me troubleshoot a coolant leak?

W
Mar 4, 2019
So I have lived in a very unique place on top of a ski resort for the last two years. My daily commute to and from work at the base area often includes some combination of a chairlift, skiing/snowboarding, hiking/snowshoeing, or my personal favorite a snowmobile ride on the 900 I bought from the previous tenant. I have some mechanical knowledge but was completely new to 2 strokes at the time.

At least, it was my favorite. Then I snapped my steering post this winter season. I wound up taking it to a nearby power-sports mechanic for the replacement I was hoping to save myself time and stress, as my winter months are often non-stop working, playing, and being a general ski bum dirtbag. I've got enough mechanic experience to have done a top end on a 4 cyl Accord a year prior, so I probably should have done it myself.

Takes the guys longer than I thought, but I got the sled back with a few new problems I hadn't been having before. Starting, flooding, and bogging down issues all seemed to be fixed by replacement of the plugs. But there is still an awful coolant leak, that I think is entirely an over pressurization issue causing coolant to be force out my overflow hose.

Coolant is dumping out the overflow hose at an alarming rate. Basically as soon as I start pulling the starter. It can easily burn through all visible coolant in the tank in a single commute to work, about 2km. After it will hiss and steam and smoke, but not smell like a typical overheat, more like it's just steaming coolant off hot parts. Haven't checked the actual temp. Haven't checked the compression.

So my thoughts;
A. Coolant Cap
B. Thermostat busted or incorrectly installed
C. Mechanic failed to bleed the air properly