• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Seasonal Diamond Drive Maintenance Questions

Thread Rating
5.00 star(s)

Frostbite

Lifetime Membership
Dec 15, 2007
Eastern Washington
I'm still relatively new to Cat and I have an 09 M8 with 1,500 miles. My first time ever dealing with a Diamond Drive was when I swapped out my single row Diamond Drive bearing for a double row bearing before last season. This of course, came with a good Diamond Drive cleaning and a fresh dose of Arctic Cat Synthetic Gear lube. I rode all last season and I haven't looked in the Diamond Drive since.

I have read enough posts revealing that changing the Diamond Drive oil frequently is the key to longevity for the Diamond Drive. Ok, now what?

I have the Arctic Cat service manual and I see a job titled "Flushing the Gear Case". You basically drain the oil, add the flush fluid, run the track a bit, drain the flush fluid and fill with the recommended amount of oil. Is this what I need to do?

Some say it's best to split the case and inspect each time the oil is changed (not a bad idea) but, I if I remember correctly, the screws that hold the cover on the Diamond Drive were just machine screws threaded into the aluminum of the diamond drive body without nutserts to thread into. I'm scared to death I am going to strip one out trying to torque it after replacing the cover, then what?

I also have a new to me, 2005 M5 for my daughter, which I also want to change the fluid. Do the same rules apply?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Oh here's a helpful post on the subject but, frankly if I can just change the oil and not open the case I'm happy. This whole Diamond Drive thing is still new to me and to be honest, I'm a little spooked at even thinking about opening up the Diamond Drive case.

http://www.hardcoresledder.com/forums/lofiversion/index.php/t230041.html

J

Jeff K

Jan 26, 2008
Calgary, AB