• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

05 F-350 6.0L Diesel downshifting problem?

F
Dec 11, 2007
Minnesota
I just purchased an 05 6.0L powerstroke. I'm kind of new to the whole diesel thing, but correct me if i'm wrong. The whole point of a diesel motor is more power and better towing. Atleast that is why I bought one. I just got back from colorado and montana on a hunting trip and I was less than pleased with my truck. We were pulling a 24ft open snowmobile trailer with 3 four wheelers and the bed of the truck was plum full to the topper with bags and coolers. At most we had 7000lbs of stuff. My problem is that I couldn't even set the cruise with a tail wind and keep the truck from downshifting. That to me is unacceptable. For that I could have bought a gas motor and saved myself the extra 5 plus grand. I could understand if I was pulling 10,000lbs and had a 20 mph headwind, but that wasn't the case at all. Does anyone have a soution to this problem? Any help would be grateful. Thanks.

S
Jan 27, 2008
illinois
Does the truck feel underpowered, run poor, have a cel on. What kind of fuel milage did you get. How many miles are on the truck. Do you have tires that are conciderably over stock size. You may want to have codes checked if the truck is feeling under powered. 6.0 were known for turbo problems in 04.5-0.5.

Transporter

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Alberta
Should have bought mine..See swapmeet...Also hows your air filter could be a long list of problems but was it just shifting down out of overdrive?

jthussey

Lifetime Membership
Sep 3, 2008
Minot, ND Big Sky, MT