• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Help with mds weights

06m7

Lifetime Membership
Feb 5, 2008
2013 m1100t 162 with sandale divorce pipe and muffler im running right now at 1000ft and can't seem to keep it off the rev limiter. I have a base weight of 70.6 with a plate and two hex bolts and two nuts total 91.4 or so with a 75/275 cat gold not sure what to do its a real pain. I'm not going to do a re lash or anything just yet for warranty issues.

B

b1dodge

Nov 26, 2007
utah
www.youtube.com
Thats pretty low elevation so I have limited experience. Your primary weight sounds close considering the spring. What helix are you running? One thing we have learned with the big twin is you cannot let the motor get a run at your clutching. It makes so much torque down low that if your clutch dont catch it early in the power band it has to play catch up. Most of the time the clutch loses the battle and your on the limiter.

06m7

Lifetime Membership
Feb 5, 2008
The helix is stock not even sure what it is I was thinking of trying a 74/228 cat red primary

T

Turbo11T

Nov 26, 2007
Lake Crystal, MN
2013 m1100t 162 with sandale divorce pipe and muffler im running right now at 1000ft and can't seem to keep it off the rev limiter. I have a base weight of 70.6 with a plate and two hex bolts and two nuts total 91.4 or so with a 75/275 cat gold not sure what to do its a real pain. I'm not going to do a re lash or anything just yet for warranty issues.

Try a lighter primary spring. Should be able to look up the specs. If your Rev limiter is at high speed get one with a similar start rate and a looser finish and if it is just off Idle when you mash the throttle Which I assume it is. GO with a lighter start rate.

06m7

Lifetime Membership
Feb 5, 2008