• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Power loss after a long, long pull. 2012 ETEC.

Matte Murder

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
May 4, 2011
Rode up at Mount Baker yesterday. We had some spots where it was a 2-4 minute long pull at full throttle in deep snow. A couple of times my sled just kinda ran out of power. Like it was tightening up. Had to turn out and ride down and give it a break. I am still fairly new to sledding. What is going on? There was no check engine light or warning. No signs of over heating. Usually in a long side hill on right ski but I don't think it was clogging the exhaust. I had the right side buried way deeper at other times and no bog/stalling out. Checked my belts and they still look like new. Clutches were hot. When I dripped some snow on them it sizzled.

P

pfi572

Nov 29, 2009
North West Alberta
I am going to say that it is just hot clutchs. Next time out after riding into area take couple pulls at a hill back to back and then let it sit for till clutchs cool.
Try same hill again after clutchs are cool and things will be different. When clutchs get hot they swell and then start to stick and performance drop's.
If you don't have clutching and gearing perfect in order to keep the belt from slipping heat happens.
If you have a few hundred miles clean and inspect clutchs and give it a try before you start chasing something that may not be there.