• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Tether switch KTM

M
Mar 12, 2018
Sandpoint, ID
I’m a noob setting up my KTM 500 EXC for the first time. I’m a long time dirt biker switching over from a sled last year.
I’m wondering if anyone runs a tether switch for their snowbike setup, and if there is anything that is plug and go? I have not found anything yet.
Thank you

dooman92

Lifetime Membership
Mar 1, 2010
Tether

I am going to use at tether on my 18 500exc-f. The wiring diagram in the service manual shows a three wire system at the bar switch, but, when I took it apart I found that the rocker kill switch is a simple normally open two wire system. One side of the kill switch is direct to ground and I assume the other is connected to the primary ignition circuit. Closing the switch kills the engine by grounding the ignition. Apparently ktm uses a three wire system also. If you have the two wire setup there are several options as it is a simple normally open switch that closes when the tether is removed. I bought one off eBay, but yet to test. I think sicass racing sold one too. Hope this helps

J

Jaynelson

Nov 26, 2007
Nelson BC
Just FYI the EXC's do have a built in switch that kills the bike in 5 seconds if it's laying on its side / upside down. Not saying a tether is a bad idea, but just in case you weren't aware

M
Mar 12, 2018
Sandpoint, ID
Just FYI the EXC's do have a built in switch that kills the bike in 5 seconds if it's laying on its side / upside down. Not saying a tether is a bad idea, but just in case you weren't aware
I was not aware, thanks for pointing that out. My worst fear is having the track spinning on top of me at full throttle. The stars would have to align for that to happen anyway, and knowing it would shut down after 5 seconds would probably save a few layers of skin and tissue ?

C
Mar 9, 2017
Lethbridge, AB