• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

cooke city

S

snirt-racing

Jan 31, 2010
Billings,Mt
I am new to Montana. how do you get to cooke city in the winter? I will be livin in Billings. cant wait for the snow! :face-icon-small-hap

Wheel House Motorsports

Lifetime Membership
Nov 27, 2007
SW MT
from that side, park and sled over the 212 highway to cooke, or if you want to drive and stay for a few days head around to gardiner and into the park. but thats a long arse drive!!

x-5

Premium Member
Nov 26, 2007
Park City mt
go toward cody from lauel then take Chief Joseph Scenic Highway then go right toward cooke. About 2 to 3 hour drive depending on weather

S

snirt-racing

Jan 31, 2010
Billings,Mt
Awesome! That isnt a bad drive for some bad *** sledding! I am used to driving hours for snow and its flat land... and a whoping total of two feet.

T

Team Wild

Aug 13, 2008
Belgrade, MT
Im sure your aware of this but just in case. You need to have a beacon, shovel and probe with you especially when riding around Cooke. If not for you maybe to help out someone else. Not trying to be a downer but its a whole different world in avy territory. Im not as prepared as I would like to be. Its easy to overlook it. Also coming up soon are avalanche classes Im not sure but I would guess one of the dealers in Billings would put one on.

S

snirt-racing

Jan 31, 2010
Billings,Mt
Im sure your aware of this but just in case. You need to have a beacon, shovel and probe with you especially when riding around Cooke. If not for you maybe to help out someone else. Not trying to be a downer but its a whole different world in avy territory. Im not as prepared as I would like to be. Its easy to overlook it. Also coming up soon are avalanche classes Im not sure but I would guess one of the dealers in Billings would put one on.