• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Avalanche Class Availability.....?

M

monster715

Nov 4, 2009
Wisconsin
Hey Guys.....relatively new to riding out west in the mountains. From the Midwest (flatlander) and took my first trip out west last year and going again this year in a few weeks.

I have read alot of material on avalanches but am interested in taking a class. Does anyone know of any online courses or other options for a class here in the Midwest?

Thanks.

C

Covelli44

Jan 2, 2011
North Aurora, IL
Took this class this year. I am also new to the mountains and felt this class was excellent and very informative. I actually took the classroom portion in Madison. Check out his website or contact him on Snowest for different dates. I think his name is snowww1.

Hope this helps man!
On the Snow Avalanche Rescue Class

Learn to rescue at a professional level.
Outdoors on the snow.​

Prerequisite: Four hour avalanche awareness, avoidance and rescue classroom session.

Learn: The fastest way to find a beacon, to search efficiently for multiple beacons, search patterns for multiple beacons, accurate pinpointing, common mistakes in rescue, find someone without a beacon, probe for a victim , effective shoveling techniques, how to work as a team, lead and execute a fast avalanche rescue.

Instructor: Mike Duffy. Level I & II Avalanche instructor Colorado Mountain College, rescue/avalanche team leader/avalanche mission coordinator Vail Mountain Rescue Group, instructor Walter Kirch Avalanche Seminars, graduate of National Avalanche School, National Academy of Winter Guiding, AVPRO. Mountain Snowmobiler for 20 years. Member American Avalanche Association. Trained by BCA, Snowpulse, and Ortovox.

Colorado:
February 13, 2011 Grand Mesa
location: Thunder Mountain Lodge. 20658 Baron Lake Dr Cedaredge, CO 81413 www.thundermountainlodge.net 877-470-6548