• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

steering post

M

miko700

Dec 16, 2009
Washington cascade concrete
I have an 06 700 and my steering post/handlebars have about a 1/2 of slop, it looks like the problem when followed is at the connection point that is at the base of the motor in the back. As i have noticed from some previous posts regarding this, pulling the motor is required? The slop is not usually even noticeable once i get out there and am having fun but its more of a safety issue for me, bars breaking at 70 on the trail for some reason bothers me....
Yanking the motor seems pretty daunting to me. Is it possible to remove the tank and rear plastic to acces this point. (i've been an automotive painter fer 20some years i can r.i well)(by the way have any paint questions)I've even thought about sawing an acces hole in the bottom aluminum and resealing.
Also Kraven posted some stuff about cleaning sheaves etc I did clean and abrade mine thoroughly and put a felt tip marker line on the clutch, mine is rubbed off to about the last 1/4 inch from the top, what does this show and how much line shoouuld be left....?
Finally, I've looked around to no avail do they make a "service" manual for this motor with a little help i'd be down right dangerous!!
Lastly, Thanks in advance for your help guys i have acessed this forum many times for help regarding this sled and it has been very helpful!

M

miko700

Dec 16, 2009
Washington cascade concrete
guido