• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Yamaha Nytro 2012 MTX 162 SE Fox Float 2 Settings

E
Jan 15, 2013
Hi, I am new to the snowmobile world and I promise that I've searched and googled before posting. Last year I purchased a 2012 Nytro MTX SE 162 with the MPI Turbocharger. Because of work schedule I took it out once, Didn't like the steering geometry, brought it back home and Installed the Black Diamond steering column and riser. Took it out again and seemed that I was fighting air pressure problems. From what I read in multiple places, Yamaha published a chart somewhere that gave base line air pressure settings based on rider weight and cargo load. Based on the shop manual, Fronts are recommended at 75psi, and on the skid Front shock at 50psi and skid rear shock on the skid at 150psi.

My Question: Does anyone here have the referenced suspension tuning chart based on rider weight/cargo weight? Second part of the question, is what have people run and have had success.

I fully realize that this is a very open ended question and that some would say that snowmobile suspension tuning is a black science. There has to be some knowledge out there and my hope would be that someone would share some of it to get me pointed in the correct direction.

Thanks in advance.

tmk50

Lifetime Membership
Sep 20, 2001
Brighton, Colorado
My advice would be to start with that baseline setting and ride it a few times. Take the pump out of the tool kit and put it in your backpack if you want to try adjustments mid-day.

IMO settings are more dependent on how you ride rather than your weight and the weight of the sled (it is a combination of all). If you do a lot of off trail riding, sidehilling, etc. you may want the shocks to compress differently then if you ride trails, bumps, etc.