• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Polycarbonate vs. lexan hoods?? (IQ racer)

T
Nov 26, 2007
I need a clear hood.

On one hand I have Mountainfit hoods, who make poly.

On the other I have BR-Tech, lexan.

I have read on these forums about Mountain fit being a pain to deal with, and at their website there's no phone # to call them, just order forms.

BR Tech I remember a few years back about having delivery problems as well... You can order on-line, but they have a # listed, that they don't answer...

Was about to order a BR-Tech hood online but would rather dish my info over the phone and confirm that the hood is in stock and on the way before I commit to payin $90 shipping and handling to one company. Personally I'd rather go with a poly hood, but getting the hood soon is more important.

Any input??

S

Supplicate

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Oct 4, 2005
Slowdotnuh
I'm no expert on this, but from what I've seen the poly hoods hold up better then the lexan. I have a lexan hood on the shelf I got for dirt cheap from BR Tech because they cut it the wrong height.

D
if you buy a polycarbonate hood do not trailer without a cover on your sled. Made that mistake last year and I still have not figured out a way to get the salt discoloration out of it. Other than that I like my mountain fit hood a lot.

T
Nov 26, 2007
So is Mountain Fit still having problems delivering right now?? I read on here that they should be ramped up for sled season now and delivery should not be a problem. Still would be nice to hear anything other than the negatives and find a number to call them direct.

I hear that using tooth paste is a good compound for polishing plastic. Crest with a high speed buffer???

C
Nov 26, 2007
dankorage