• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

All 3 of my Polaris RMK's won't start

K
Feb 26, 2013
Trying to get my sleds running for the season and I can't get any of the three to want to start.

03 RMK 600
04 RMK 800
04 550 Trail

Things done so far.

Ran Startron through fuel in spring. (always do whenever I fill up)
Cleaned 800 carbs and they looked fine.
All new plugs per manufacture type/gap
Verified I have spark
Believe to have fuel going in.
Fuel valves on, kill switch off, key on - duh
Doesn't seem to matter what position choke is in

I did get the 800 to run for about 5 seconds or less when added starting fluid in air box. Since then I have read this is bad so won't be doing that any more.

I'm new to sledding so I'm wondering if there is some other switch I turned off or something I did in the spring that I am just forgetting about. Can't seem to find anything obvious though that's probably what it is. They all ran fine this last spring when I put them away. They have been garaged all summer.

I'm about ready to light them on fire so any advice is appreciated!

Thanks a ton!

Last edited:

Laundryboy

Lifetime Membership
Oct 31, 2012
Since the 800 runs on starting fluid only, it's likely not getting any fuel. Have you checked the fuel pump. How did you clean the carbs? With cleaner and compressed air?

A
Nov 26, 2007
Elko, NV.
If you had them stored for the last six or seven months in a hot dry environment and did not start every couple weeks your float bowls may have evaporated dry, leaving pilot jets plugged, possibly main jets plugged and your floats and need valve stuck in the up position not allowing any fuel into the bowl. If your carbs are that varnished up the only way to get them unplugged is a solvent soak (such as can be purchased at NAPA) with carbs totally disassembled.

retiredpop

Lifetime Membership
Jul 3, 2001
Calgary