• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Vertical edge vs regular rmk

R

rmkMatt

Sep 14, 2010
Wyoming
I'm new to this and have one of each, is there any difference really between the two? The 02 I have says vertical edge on it, is black and has different shocks than my 03. That's all I can tell.

Mark's RMK

Lifetime Membership
May 5, 2010
Sturgeon Lake, MN
Vertical Escape

I have a 2004 Vertical Escape 800 151.

It has a lighter seat than my 2003 RMK.

Way fancier shock package. The rear clicker even has rebound adjustment.

I think the trailing arms/radius rods are lightweight versions as well.

S
Feb 25, 2008
Craig CO
RMK= plain jane
Vertical Edge= different colors better Ryder FX shocks
Vertical Escape= T post stering post, light wheight jack shaft, lighter trailing arms, lighter seat, better ryder fx shocks, pro-x style chaincase (in 04 vertical edges got this chain case too),team secondary with reverse later edges would get this too.
In 03 was the biggist difference from Rmk to Vertical Escape. All a vert edge was to me was a snow check sled that looked liked the Escapes but didn't have all the goodies.

Mark's RMK

Lifetime Membership
May 5, 2010
Sturgeon Lake, MN
Vertical Escape

How much less do you think the Vetical Escape weighed than the RMK's?

I knew I had the T-post steering but did not realize my jackshaft was different. I knew the 04's had the Pro-X style chain case so did not think that was any of the feature upgrades.

Are the torque arms on the rear suspension any different/lighter than the regular RMK?

R

rmkMatt

Sep 14, 2010
Wyoming
Thank you, this is exactly the info I was looking for. I've been on the lookout for a third sled either for parts or just as a backup sled and was wondering what all the names meant.

S
Feb 25, 2008
Craig CO