• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Riding tip suggestions: Going from the M-Series Chassis to the 2018 Ascender chassis

Stack

Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Nov 29, 2007
Midwest
Ok so I have both sleds now, got a little logging road riding time on the 18 last spring as I purchased an ER M8000 SP. I’m super comfortable riding my 10 M8 after all these years, it’s performance and mannerisms are just predictable to me, but getting on the 18 I feel like a complete newbie to snowmobiling.

I upgraded the front shocks and the rear track shock to the mountain cat QS3’s over the summer, the center shock is the standard coil over for now. Based on feedback here I just lowered the pressures on the front ski shocks from 75 down to 60 and the rear track shock down to 140. I’ll play around with setting 2 on the trail and 1 in the powder, hopefully tomorrow a little test and tune time to see the impact the shock adjustments had. The front end has felt a bit twitchy to me, not quite as stable as I’d like.

Anyway I’m still trying to ride/muscle this thing like my 10 M-series, which I know is totally incorrect, and trust me I feel it when riding the sled that way. Any pointers to help get more comfortable on this new platform would be appreciated! It straight climbs excellent and is stable/planted in that regard, it’s the technical stuff, tight climbs through trees and properly getting the sled on its side (not trying to muscle it over) that I’m struggling with a bit.

Side note; does anyone find the stock bar riser to be a bit short? I’m 6ft and the 4.5 inch stock riser seems a short. I’m prob one of a few that miss the adjustable height bars that are only on the High Country now!

Thanks guys, your feedback is appreciated!

-John

Last edited:

kiliki

Lifetime Membership
Dec 27, 2008
Nampa, Idaho