• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Advice for new(er?) sled

R

randeeh

Dec 17, 2009
Hi ladies,
I'm hoping you can help me out.
I'm looking to buy a newer sled this season so we can do more and decide if its going to be a full blown hobby. We got into it a few years back when my parents purchased a couple 1996 polaris sleds. I couldn't tell you what they are because they're stored at the ranch is Saratoga. Anyway, I'd like to get something newer -- probably in the 2-3k range just so we can experiment more with what we like to do. So, basically I'm looking for a sled that I can handle (start, unstick, etc).

B

BackCountryBabe

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Oct 10, 2009
Island Park, Idaho
www.hasended.com
I'd say go out an rent a sled. I'm very new to snowmobiling, and wasn't about to jump into something with a ?K price tag. I rented a few different Polaris' and SkiDoos' before I made a decision. Sadly Arctic Cat was out of my price range, so I didn't even bother renting one.

I bought myself a used 2006 Skidoo and am very happy with my sled. Just remember once a sled leaves the showroom floor, the resale value drops pretty fast in today's economy. If you find something you like , try looking for a used sled.

I know the more experienced women on the forum can point you in a better direction, if you got specific questions.

Good Luck, wish I could be more help.